University of Arkansas names five Sturgis Fellows, including two from Northwest Arkansas

FAYETTEVILLE — Five incoming freshmen have been named Sturgis Fellows within the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences on the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.The 2023 class members all come from Arkansas, in line with the college’s announcement.The new class members are:Trevor Duke of Little Rock, Pulaski Academy.Veronica Ivester of Little Rock, Little Rock Christian Academy.Taksh Patel of Fayetteville, Fayetteville High School.Sarah Reaves of North Little Rock, Central Arkansas Christian Schools.Muskan Taori of Bentonville, Bentonville High School.The Sturgis Fellowship is one of the UA’s oldest, most esteemed fellowship applications. It awards every fellow $80,000 throughout their 4 years to cowl tuition, room and board, and academic instruments corresponding to laptop {hardware} and software program, high-quality musical devices, entry to skilled journals and participation at educational conferences.All Sturgis Fellows are actively pursuing a significant inside Fulbright College, finishing an intensive educational program and writing an unbiased thesis. They are additionally inspired to review overseas and pursue internship alternatives throughout their time at UA. All Sturgis Fellows are additionally anticipated to graduate with honors.Since 1986, Sturgis Fellows gained Rhodes, Marshall, Truman, Gates, Cambridge, Goldwater and Fulbright scholarships. Their undergraduate examine overseas experiences included applications in Japan, England, India, South Africa, Ghana, Rwanda, China, Russia, Italy, Germany, Austria, Australia, Scotland, Ireland, Spain, France, Denmark and Thailand.The fellowships and their related alternatives are made doable by the continued help of the Roy and Christine Sturgis Charitable and Educational Trust.

Recommended For You